New Albany and Union County are fortunate to have several higher education institutions within a short drive time.

Northeast at New Albany:
Northeast Mississippi Community College opened its New Albany branch in a portion of the former Mattie Thompson Elementary School in June 2003. The facility houses the WIN Job Center, Adult Basic Education classes, a computer laboratory, and two general- purpose classrooms. In 2007 Northeast at New Albany opened a new building consisting of additional classrooms and a fully equipped Science Lab. An LPN Nursing program began in August 2008 along with continuing education classes, leisure learning classes, and a complete core curriculum. Northeast at New Albany currently has an Associate Degree program in place. For more information and a list of all available classes visit

Northeast Mississippi Community College:
Northeast Mississippi Community College’s main campus is located 35 miles east of New Albany at Booneville and serves a five-county district including Union County. Enrollment at Northeast is about 3,300 students. Northeast offers university parallel programs leading to an Associate of Arts (A.A.) degree in 59 majors. In addition, Northeast offers 22 technical programs leading to an Associate of Applied Science (A.A.S.) degree and six career or occupational programs leading to a certificate. The Division of Workforce Training and Economic Development also provides customized training for Union County industries and businesses.

University of Mississippi:
The University of Mississippi, commonly known as Ole Miss, is located 35 miles west of New Albany at Oxford. Ole Miss, with an enrollment of approximately 14,000, is a comprehensive research university offering Bachelor’s, Master’s, and Doctoral degrees in a wide variety of fields. The University is home to 22 research centers. Several of these research centers work in business or technical areas that could provide services to benefit an industry located in New Albany/Union County. Centers likely to be of service to industry are the Hearin Center for Enterprise Science, the Jamie Whitten Center for Physical Acoustics, and the National Center for Natural Products Research.

Advanced Education Center, University of Mississippi:
The Advanced Education Center is located approximately 25 miles southeast of New Albany at Tupelo. Courses are offered to meet the needs of those seeking to earn college credit while working full-time or meeting family commitments. The University of Mississippi offers junior and senior level undergraduate courses in accountancy, business, education, liberal arts, and a paralegal certificate program to complement freshman and sophomore level courses offered by local community colleges. Graduate degrees are offered in education.

Blue Mountain College:
Blue Mountain College is located 15 miles north of New Albany in Blue Mountain. Blue Mountain College is a Christian liberal arts undergraduate institution supported by the Mississippi Baptist Convention. The college has traditionally been a women’s college enrolling only men pursuing church related vocations. Beginning in 2006, Blue Mountain has opened all its programs to men. It offers Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Science, and Bachelor of Science in Education degrees in 15 majors.

Rust College:
Rust College is located 35 miles northwest of New Albany at Holly Springs. Rust College is a historically Black, coeducational, senior liberal arts college affiliated with the United Methodist Church. Rust offers Bachelor of Science, Bachelor of Arts, and Associate of Science degrees in 16 areas of study.

Mississippi University for Women:
The Mississippi University for Women offers a RN/BSN option at the Advanced Education Center in Tupelo. This program is designed for working registered nurses interested in a baccalaureate program in nursing.

University of Mississippi, Booneville Campus:
The University of Mississippi complements the mission of Northeast Mississippi Community College by offering courses necessary for a Bachelor’s or Master’s degree in certain disciplines on the Northeast campus.

Mississippi State University, Booneville:
Mississippi State University and Northeast Mississippi Community College have formed a partnership to offer a Bachelor’s degree in Elementary Education on the Northeast campus with a minimal amount of time required on MSU’s Starkville campus in the summer.

Itawamba Community College, Tupelo Branch:
The Tupelo Branch of Itawamba Community College located 25 miles from New Albany offers Associate of Applied Science degrees in 17 majors and vocational certificates in four fields. Academic classes are also offered at this branch.

Northwest Mississippi Community College, Lafayette-Yalobusha Technical Center:
This center, located 35 miles west of New Albany at Oxford, offers five technical majors and three career majors.